The Law Office of Marc J. Semke
A Criminal Defense And Youth Advocacy Firm In York, Pennsylvania
717-781-8021

What happens if I get a second DUI in Pennsylvania?

Getting a DUI for the first time can be a stressful event. A second time can feel even worse. We've discussed what happens on a first offense, but it's important to know how a second offense could impact you.

Second offenses are still subject to the three-tiered blood alcohol content (BAC) definitions, but the fines and penalties increase with each subsequent offense.

General impairment BAC

If you are found guilty of a second offense with a BAC of 0.08 to 0.099 percent, you could be subjected to the following fines and penalties:

  • A suspension of your driver's license for up to one year
  • Five days to six months in prison
  • A fine ranging from $300 to $2,500
  • Mandatory alcohol highway safety school
  • Alcohol and drug treatment
  • An Ignition Interlock system for up to one year

Subsequent penalties and fines are worse, and can be considered a 2nd degree misdemeanor.

High BAC

For a second offense with a BAC of 0.10 to 0.159 percent, you could be subjected to the following fines and penalties:

  • Automatic driver's license suspension for one year
  • 30 days to six months in jail
  • A fine ranging from $750 to $5,000
  • Mandatory alcohol highway safety school
  • Alcohol and drug treatment
  • An Ignition Interlock system for up to one year

Subsequent penalties and fines are worse, and can be considered a 1st degree misdemeanor charge.

Highest BAC

A second offense at a BAC of 0.16 percent or more could lead to the following fines and penalties:

  • A 1st degree misdemeanor charge
  • Automatic suspension of 18 months
  • 90 days to five years in prison
  • A fine ranging from $1,500 to $10,000
  • Mandatory alcohol highway safety school
  • Alcohol and drug treatment
  • An Ignition Interlock system for up to one year

Third offenses are also a 1st degree misdemeanor charge with similar penalties, but the fines start at $2,500 and the minimum prison sentence is one year.

A first DUI is often the result of a mistake, but a second or third DUI are treated more harshly because they imply a pattern of behavior. As a result, a strong defense can be critical.

No Comments

Leave a comment
Comment Information